The International Day of the World’s Indigenous Peoples is on  9 august every year. This day is observed to create and awareness as well as protect the rights of the world indingenous population.

 All  International days and weeks, which are marked to educate the public on issues of concern, to  political will and resources to address global problems, the International Day of the World’s Indigenous Peoples is also celebrated to recognise the contribution and achievements of indigenous communities and to highlight  they face in their existence.

  The United Nations  estimates that there are more than 476 million indigenous people in the world, spread across 90 countries and representing 5,000 different cultures, who make 6.2 % of the global population and live in all geographic regions.

The International Day of the World’s Indigenous Peoples was marked for the first time by UN General Assembly  decide to observe in  23 December 1994.  The  first meeting of the UN Working Group on Indigenous Populations of the Sub-Commission on the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights. This day recognize the first UN working group on indigenous populations meeting in genevain 1982.

The UN celebrates this day every year to “demand  indigenous peoples’ inclusion, participation and approval in the constitution of a system with social and economic benefits for all”. Indigenous communities have also been  affected by the Covid-19 , whose life expectancy was already 20 years lower  that of their non-Indigenous counterparts before the corona virus  hit.

 In 2022, the UN will start another milestone with the Decade of Indigenous Languages. It aims to conserve Indigenous languages, which helps preserve their cultures, world views and visions, as well as expressions of self-determination.

The UN has been working towards  in  reforms at the international level to address the ill treatment of indigenous communities and the adopted of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples  by the General Assembly in September 2007, by a majority of 144 states in favour,nad another step in direction  , Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the United States were the four nations who initially opposed the adoption but later reversed their decision to support the declaration.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here