The  state of emergency was on Monday imposed in Japan`s Chiba, Kanagawa, Saitama and Osaka prefectures, joining Tokyo and Okinawa, due to a  in new Covid-19 cases. 

The four new prefectures will last until August 31,  according  to report ,Xinhua news agency.

The Japanese government is planning to roll out standards for  restrictions with the development  of vaccination of the population.

In emergency period Tokyo and Okinawa  , was also extended to August 31 from the originally planned August 22. The quasi-state of emergency is less restrictive on business activity than the state of emergency.

Under the state of emergency, establishments serving alcohol or offering  services are asked to suspend their business, and those not serving  liquor    are requested to close at 8 p.m.

The government would offer monitory  compensation for compliance.

The 6  prefectures, a quasi-state of emergency has been implemented in parts of  Hokkaido, Ishikawa, Kyoto, Hyogo, and Fukuoka until the end of August.

According to the government`s policy, serving alcohol is prohibited and restaurants not serving liquor are asked to close at 8 p.m. under the quasi-state of emergency as well, and the local governors of the five prefectures could ease restrictions based on improvements in the situation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here